All you ever wanted to know about:

Davy Jones Locker Diving

Davy Jones Locker Diving
14/102 Moo 2
Koh Tao
สุราษฎร์ธานี
84360
Thailand
Tel: +66 77456604
Review Summary

4.76 / 5

based on 353 reviews - 95% of reviewers would recommend Davy Jones Locker Diving to a friend




About Davy Jones Locker Diving

DJL is a 5 star PADI Career Development Center located on Koh Tao. We offer a full range of PADI courses from Open Water right through to Staff Instructor with a highly successful Divemaster program and team of Platinum rated Course Directors running our IDC program. We of course also offer Discover Scuba Dives and fun dives and are located in the popular Sairee Beach area of the island. We also have a Technical Diving department that can offer Tech courses through PADI/DSAT, ANDI & IANTD as well as Cave Diving and Rebreather courses.


Languages

German, English, Spanish; Castilian, French


Affiliations

ANDI, BSAC, IANTD, PADI


Services

Boat diving, Dive training, In house equipment sales, Diver certifications, Free collection from pier, Accommodation booking


Shop media

Visitor uploaded media

Locations

Davy Jones Locker Diving

14/102 Moo 2

Koh Tao

สุราษฎร์ธานี

84360

Thailand

Davy Jones Locker Diving

14/102 Moo 2

Sairee

Koh Tao

สุราษฎร์ธานี

84360

Thailand

Contact Davy Jones Locker Diving

Davy Jones Locker Diving
14/102 Moo 2
Koh Tao
สุราษฎร์ธานี
84360
Thailand


Davy Jones Locker Diving
Tel: +66 77456604



Blog:


Currently viewing:    Newest first    
Reviews with:    1 stars    

from Newcastle Upon Tyne reviewed Davy Jones Locker Diving

written on Jul 04, 2015 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Added Jul 04, 2015

1/5 stars

Brutal customer service

Easily one of the worst experiences I've had whilst I have been travelling. After completing all of my academia with regard to the open water course, I failed to complete dive 1 and so could not continue the course. After requesting a partial refund I was awarded a meagre £20 for a course that cost £180. After speaking in front of the manager and several of his colleagues who felt the need for their presence to be there whilst I spoke I was given an additional £10. What a pisstake. How the hell it costs £10 a dive yet it costs £16 each time to watch a PADI video is beyond me. I was also given a PADI diving manual by email which is of no use to me considering I have no Open Water qualification. Why should I have been charged £50 for this email manual? The only reason they sent it out as prematurely as they did was to cover their own back and to attain as much money from my failed course as possible. I apologise if this seems like a heated review however, £30 refund is no where near good enough for how much of the course I completed. The weighting of the dives versus the academia refund is ridiculous and for this reason I cannot say anything good about DJL, especially after the instructors had no empathy during my failure. The trainee dive master also made it feel like a kick in the balls when he was upset that he couldn't even log the dive on his computer because of my failure.

Will Harrison would not recommend Davy Jones Locker Diving

Response from Davy Jones Locker Diving Oct 13, 2015

Unfortunately after completing the first 2 days of the course (a few hours watching the videos on day one, then a full day on day 2 of the course and the morning of day 3 of the course) covering all of the academics and confined water sessions and having the PADI Open Water manual then it is just the actual dives that are left on the course (which is actually just 1 other day an afternoon on day 3 completing the first two Open Water dives and then the morning on day 4 completing the final 2 dives of the course) and when people do go out on the dive boat for the first two Open Water dives then there are costs incurred for the boat fuel, Instructor wages, equipment rental/maintenance costs, tank pumping costs etc. So you did actually complete 5 of the 6 half day sessions from the dive course. You would also have still used the four nights of accommodation that were included in the package you took.
With your referral form you were given when you were unable to complete the course it does mean that you will be able to try to complete just the dives again at any time (in any location) within 12 months of when you took the Open Water course here and as you already have the manual there would be no additional certification cost as the certification is linked into the manual.
I hope this helps to clarify a bit more as to why the refunded amount was lower than you were expecting.

About Will Harrison

Dives done : 1-20

reviewed Davy Jones Locker Diving

written on Apr 05, 2015 in Hilden, Germany

Added Apr 05, 2015

1/5 stars

Mass treatment for beginners, no fun for fundiver

Average age is around 20, almost exclusively beginner, main interest is licence selling - PADI: put another dollar in, lost and found room open for public, snorkel and mask stolen: not surprising therefore

there are much better places would not recommend Davy Jones Locker Diving

Response from Davy Jones Locker Diving Apr 06, 2015

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your fun dive with us, I do realise that you were here just after the February Full Moon Party over on Koh Phangan during the busiest 4 day period ever for our dive school.
The average age of students at the time you were here was lower than usual too as we had a school party of twenty two 16-19 year olds who started their Open Water course the day before you did your fun dive. We don't actually have a lost and found room, I think that you are referring to our kit room which yes is open during the day but is monitored by CCTV. With the shear numbers of people who were going through the dive school over that particular 4 day period it's most likely that someone accidentally picked up your mask and snorkel thinking it was dive school equipment if you'd left it in our equipment room.

About there are much better places

Dives done : 1-20

reviewed Davy Jones Locker Diving

written on Jan 14, 2015 in Strasbourg, France

Added Jan 14, 2015

1/5 stars

I felt so much alone

A bad experience for me,we went directly in the sea which was frigo tenons for the first dive.the teacher made no effort to make me feel confortable,actually she looked bored because i wasnt fast enough.somenone was supposed to translate but he Only dived And had nothing to do with translating.all the teachers seemed to have a lot of fun toghether,but no patience,pedagogy.some May be very young,They are more in vacation than in a real job.what a pitty...

Ingrid bazooka would not recommend Davy Jones Locker Diving

About Ingrid bazooka

Dives done : 1-20